skip to main content

Board of Education

About the Board

Valley Stream Union Free School District 30 is governed by a Board of Education comprised of five community members. Individuals who sit on the Board of Education are responsible for setting the policy under which the schools operate. Each Board member must be a member of the community. Board members are elected to serve for five-year terms of office.

The Board of Education usually meets twice monthly. Each of these meetings is open to the public. The first of these meetings is a regularly scheduled work session meeting; the second meeting is the regularly scheduled Board of Education meeting.

The work session meeting is usually held on the next to the last Monday of the month, while the regular Board meeting is usually held on the last Monday of the month at 8:00 p.m. at Shaw Avenue School.

Additional information concerning meeting dates and times can be obtained by contacting Ms. Janet Carson, Clerk of the Board, at 516-434-3600, x5222.


Trustees of the Board


Ingrid Wyllie-Dacon
Term Ending: 6/30/23
KU photo
Kelly Ureña**
Vice President
Term Ending: 06/30/24
Kenneth Cummings**
Term Ending: 6/30/26

James Lavery
Term Ending: 6/30/25
c s o
C. Sandra Okafor**
Term Ending: 6/30/22

** Also serves on the Valley Stream Central High School Board of Education