skip to main content

A Night to Celebrate Success

Photo of honored students receiving certificates thumbnail187480
Photo of Sandra Okafor speaking thumbnail187481
Photo of honored students receiving certificates 2 thumbnail187482
Photo of Dr. Nicholas Stirling speaking thumbnail187483
Photo of students holding up certificates thumbnail187484
Photo of student wearing bowtie thumbnail187485
On June 21, the Valley Stream 30 Board of Education hosted its annual awards ceremony. Following a year of challenges, the board and district were proud to host the students and families at an in-person event.

To begin the night, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction Jennifer Lewner welcomed the special guests.

“This evening we celebrate and honor the students who have demonstrated their ability to be active, creative and motivated life-long learners and showing ownership for their learning while addressing the many challenges of the 21st century, especially this year,” she said.

To assist with the presentation of awards, Sen. Todd Kaminsky gave the New York State Senate Public Service and Leadership Award to Clear Stream Avenue students Mishaal Hammad and Matthew James, Forest Road students Chinelo Obichere and Jamal Ashraf and Shaw Avenue students Fabianaud Fenelon and Kaylie Graham.

In his address to the students, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nicholas Stirling noted how the award recipients overcame difficult obstacles to arrive at the evening ceremony.

“When you think of the impossible, you must think can we make it? Is it possible? In VS30, we strive to make the impossible possible, and this evening is a testament to the fact that one year ago we did not think we would be here together today, but we are. Tonight, we witness the success of our best,” he said.

Board trustee C. Sandra Okafor echoed Dr. Stirling’s sentiments, noting “The awards you are to receive tonight are in addition to your resiliency, your self awareness, your work ethic and your ability to stand firm in facing unique challenges circumstances.”

The district extends its congratulations to all of the award winners. To view the ceremony, please click here.