skip to main content

District 30 BOE Celebrates Exceptional Teachers

teachers and administrators on group video chat thumbnail184216
During Valley Stream District 30’s virtual board of education meeting on May 17, the board approved Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nicholas Stirling’s nomination for six faculty members to pass through gate. Gate is a unique district-wide process which examines a teacher’s progress and rewards outstanding educators with the opportunity to move to the next salary range.

Teachers Kerry Ann Brady, Maureen Carrano, Debra Iadevaio, Caroline Reser, Eric Van Keuren and Sarah Van Keuren were all recognized as gate recipients for the positive contributions they have made within their schools and classrooms. The teachers were present during the virtual meeting where Dr. Stirling and the building principals –Christopher Colarossi from Shaw Avenue School, John Singleton from Clear Stream Avenue School and Erin Malone from Forest Road School, commended the candidates on their well-deserved gate status.

“All of the gate candidates are wonderful,” said Dr. Stirling. “They are professional and passionate about the work that they do…I believe each individual teacher in their own right is guiding our students and making the impossible, possible.”

In addition, the board approved the upcoming retirement of long-time Shaw Avenue School teacher Pamela Garvey. Mr. Colarossi praised Ms. Garvey for her service in the district and the board wished her well in the next chapter of her life.

The board also welcomed some new faces into the district. Leave replacement teacher Naomi Yochai and newcomer Darcel Toliver were appointed as probationary teachers for the 2021-2022 school year. New bilingual school psychologist, Dr. Anna Tello, and new teacher Jake Winston were also appointed for next school year.