skip to main content

Exceptional Staff Members Recognized at Virtual BOE Meeting

Virtual BOE Meeting Photo thumbnail172945
During Valley Stream District 30’s virtual board of education meeting on June 22, the board approved Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nicholas Stirling’s nomination for 12 outstanding faculty members to pass through gate. Gate is a long standing tradition in Valley Stream District 30. The process examines a teacher as they move through their years in the district. It allows administrators to take a closer look inside the classroom and reward those teachers with excellent progress with the opportunity to move to the next salary range.

This year’s gate candidates included Donna Annunziata, Jacqueline Capewell, Deanna Cerrone, Valerie D’Alto, Joanna Eckert, Ilissa Epstein, Gina Giovanelli, Mary Hevia, Darlene Sinclair, Erica Suarez, Valerie Taliercio and Lauren Weick. Dr. Stirling commended the faculty members, stating that it was a joy to visit their classrooms.

“I thank them from the bottom of my heart for all that they have done on behalf of our students,” said Dr. Stirling. “I look forward to the great work that I believe will continue by each and every individual teacher to support our students here in Valley Stream 30.”

The board also welcomed three new staff members to the District 30 family. Yasmin Lopez and Alyssa Hunt were appointed as elementary teachers and Kristin Princiotta was appointed as a speech teacher. Forest Road secretary Ashley Starna was appointed as the new assistant manager in the district’s business office. She will work under the leadership of Assistant Superintendent for Business Brian Phillips.

In addition, the board approved the retirement of Lisa Del Campo, an instructional technology aide. Dr. Stirling thanked Del Campo for her service to the district and wished her a happy retirement.