District Honors Outstanding Board of Education

Board Appreciation Night Photo 1 thumbnail138258
Board Appreciation Night Photo 2 thumbnail138259
Members of the Valley Stream District 30 Board of Education were recognized during the district’s annual Board of Education Appreciation Night on Oct. 21. Each October, one of the district’s three elementary schools host the special evening to celebrate the board and recognize them for their hard work and commitment to the district.
This year, building administrators, staff, students and PTA members from Shaw Avenue School hosted the event in the Shaw Avenue auditorium. Board President Kenneth Cummings, Vice President Ingrid Wyllie-Dacon and trustees James Lavery, C. Sandra Okafor and Kelly Ureña sat front row as they were praised by Shaw Avenue Principal Christopher Colarossi and Shaw Avenue PTA Co-Presidents Noemi Diaz and Sandy Gosine.
“We thank them as they lift every voice and allow our children to look within themselves for their super ability,” said Diaz. “Hats off to the dedicated men and women of the board who make it possible for us to have a say about education in our community.”
Fitting with the district’s theme of the year, “Lift Every Voice,” the board enjoyed musical performances from Shaw Avenue second graders, led by music teacher Stephanie Fischer, as well as a video montage and a “Jeopardy” game show facilitated by Shaw Avenue PTA members and teachers. Each board member received a gift and enjoyed light refreshments in the gymnasium following the presentation.