BOE Appoints Tenure Candidates; Honors Star Students

BOE Appoints Tenure Candidates; Honors Star Students  thumbnail119900

It was a special evening for administrators, staff and students during Valley Stream 30’s Board of Education meeting on May 20. The board recognized several outstanding students for their recent accomplishments and granted tenure to ten deserving teachers and an assistant principal.

To kick off the meeting, Clear Stream Avenue’s orchestra students led by music teacher Christina Gorey, performed. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nicholas Stirling and the board honored Shaw Avenue School sixth graders Christopher Duarte and Malik Waheed for earning first place in the New York City NBA Math Hoops tournament. They also commended Shaw Avenue School students Gabrielle Loadholt and Jose Pinto for taking home second place in the tournament. Sixth graders Senora Johnson and Bryce Ogbourne from Steven Navarra’s class at Shaw Avenue School were recognized for being winners in the Nassau Reading Councils’ Young Authors’ Contest for their writing submissions. In addition, student winners in the PTA Reflections contest were praised. This included Syedah Zaima Ali, Morgan Charles, Liam LaVoie and Nyla Richardson. 

Following the student recognitions, Dr. Stirling announced that the Class of 2019 tenure group was one of the largest that the district has had in a very long time. He also applauded the family and friends of the tenure candidates for supporting the outstanding individuals that they are. 

“This year’s class is one that I feel has continued to support the mission and vision of our district,” he said. “Each and every one of you have done the work that is expected of you and this evening we are very proud because you are individuals who made a difference in the lives of our students here in the Valley Stream 30 School District.”

Clear Stream Avenue Principal John Singleton, Forest Road Principal Erin Malone and Shaw Avenue School Principal Dr. Alejandro Rivera spoke highly about each of the tenure candidates from their buildings before the board voted. Those who received tenure included:

Heather Graham (Forest Road Elementary Teacher)
Lauren Rosenthal (Shaw Avenue Elementary Teacher)
Andrew Canlé (Shaw Avenue Elementary Teacher)
Tiffany Pean (Forest Road Elementary Teacher)
Shannon Woodson (Clear Stream Elementary Teacher)
On Joo (Forest Road School Media Specialist)
Joanna Mankowski (Shaw Avenue Reading Teacher)
Cristina Marino (Shaw Avenue Elementary Teacher)
Kerry O’Connor (Shaw Avenue General Special Education Teacher)
Melissa Cappy (Forest Road General Special Education Teacher)
Christopher Colarossi (Shaw Avenue School Assistant Principal) 

The tenure recipients received a bouquet of flowers and a small book titled “The Art of Teaching” by Horace Mann, to guide their future teaching. The district congratulates all the students and staff who were recognized!